AVATAR and the Interactive Trailer

When going to the movies, I always arrive early to make sure I have a chance to see the previews. Trailers showcase the best elements of a film, like high-energy action sequences with bad guys in toe, heart-warming embraces between the heartthrob and his leading lady, epic soliloquies by the underdog-turned-hero or that one punch line that everyone will remember for years to come. Whether or not the movie is actually good, the preview never seems to disappoint. While I may be an easy critic, every once-in-a-while there is a trailer that creates such buzz and generates such curiosity that it nearly crashes the Fandango site weeks before the film is in theaters.

One of these aforementioned previews is for the James Cameron flick Avatar, out in theaters today. While the futuristic storyline sounds awesome and the special effects look out of this world, you have the chance to really get to know this movie before you even hit the theaters.

If you haven’t already, I highly recommend checking out the Avatar interactive trailer powered by Adobe AIR. Offering much more than your average two minute preview, this desktop application takes over your screen with a variety of video clips, behind the scenes interviews and connection to social media sites like Twitter, Flickr and YouTube. As you scale through the many features, you can track the Avatar Twitter account, which disseminates updates about the cast, links to additional YouTube clips and offers updates on ticketing. If you see something you like, you can update your Facebook status or Twitter page with the click of a mouse.

For decades, movies were very one-way; the audience would sit in front of the screen and absorb the movie in front of them. Today, we have the option of becoming involved with a particular movie even weeks or months before we see it. Through social media outlets like Flickr, YouTube or Twitter and with interactive applications like the Avatar trailer, we are able to watch and absorb information about the film and share our opinions with our peers and directly with the production companies.

How do you feel about the interactive trailer? Does it enhance the movie experience or ruin the element of surprise?

****

Thanks to Rob Longert for the idea behind this post.

6 Comments

Filed under Facebook, Film, Flickr, Social Media, Twitter, Video, YouTube

6 responses to “AVATAR and the Interactive Trailer

  1. Darren Davidson

    Yes, trailers can sometimes be too revealing. Sometimes I avoid reviews before seeing a movie i’m looking forward to. Having seen Avatar at a screening last night the trailer is good at building anticipation, without giving it all away. There is lots in the movie that will surprise and entertain the audience. It’s pretty good (if a bit corny).

    • laurenbegley

      Glad to hear you enjoyed the movie and that the trailer did the film justice. Have you had a chance to check out the interactive trailer? Even if you’ve already seen the movie, it’s worth checking out!

  2. Rob

    I think the interactive trailer was a great teaser. I knew I wanted to see Avatar from the second I saw the coming attraction, and this app enticed me even further.

    After seeing the movie this weekend, I want to see it again, and in the meantime, I am going to comb through this Adobe Air app, and watch every clip, behind the scene interview, etc…

    I almost wish the app would also aggregate reviews, videos etc…

    • laurenbegley

      Glad to hear that the interactive app improved your movie-going experience. I think the whole notion of a desktop app is going to be a growing trend and Adobe AIR has already figured out a way to do it right.

      I love the idea of aggregating reviews and videos, etc. While the app does a great job aggregating tweets, etc. from the official Avatar entities online, it would be cool to house user-generated content as well. Thanks for sharing, Rob!

  3. Have you ever considered adding more videos to your blog posts to keep the readers more entertained? I mean I just read through the entire article of yours and it was quite good but since I’m more of a visual learner,I found that to be more helpful well let me know how it turns out! I love what you guys are always up too. Such clever work and reporting! Keep up the great works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll. This is a great article thanks for sharing this informative information.. I will visit your blog regularly for some latest post.

    • laurenbegley

      You make a valid point, Jc. I’ve added video of the AVATAR trailer, but I still encourage you all to check out the interactive trailer, which I link to in the post. Not only does it showcase an awesome film, but it demonstrates the idea of a “desktop” application–something I think we’ll see more of in the next few years.

Leave a Reply

